Education System

The education in Bangladesh is divided into three levels: primary, secondary and tertiary

Primary education (6 to 11 years old) is provided by primary schools and it takes five years (1st to 5th grade). It can be preceded by pre-school education (3 to 6 years old). ided by primary schools and it lasts five years (1st to 5th grade). It can be preceded by pre-school education (3 to 6 years old). 

Secondary education (11 to 18 years old) is at most seven years long and it comprises of three-year junior secondary education (6th to 8th grade), two-year secondary education (9th to 10th grade) and two-year higher secondary education (11th to 12th grade). 

Junior secondary education (6th to 8th grade) has a general focus. Secondary education (9th to 10th grade) offers broad variety of apprenticeships, technical courses, or general education. At the end of the 10th grade, students take state exams to get SSC (Secondary School Certificate). Higher secondary education is concluded by HSC (Higher Secondary Certificate) which resembles A-levels and qualifies students for universities. 

Tertiary education (19+ years old) allows higher secondary school graduates with the HSC to improve their qualifications in various fields by studying at universities. 

More about the education system:

The school year in Bangladesh is identical with our calendar year. It begins in January and ends in December. Children have holiday in June and in December. In the meantime, they attend school. 

If a person is to become a human, he must educate himself. 


BanglaKids is a development program of ADRA Czech Republic.
Since 1999 we have provided education to 6,500 children in Bangladesh.
Together, we’re giving them an opportunity for a better future.

Copyright © 2024 ADRA Web by B Media Solutions s.r.o.